Theory Y and why not X

When you talk about leadership theories, the best theory you could practice is the theory Y for a lot of positive reasons. The first reason is that employees will want to work towards their goals without you having to take action. That can be something that bosses, or manager will like because the easier a job is, can give you time to focus on other aspects of your business. When you compare it to the theory X, they are different in too many ways. The theory X just seems like a  dictator role towards a leader and there can be a lot of opportunities you miss by going Into that theory. There are a lot of managers in the world that aren’t even aware of the theory, but I could assume they fall under that category if you took a poll, with their employees. That’s the theory that can cause a lot of employees to quit, and look for another job. For example, I know I was working for a manager that in my opinion had a lot of traits that related to the X theory, and I ended up quitting that job because of the way the management and leadership was going. It basically made me see that I didn’t agree with some things that he thought should be done or said. It just seems like a person can’t go wrong believing in the Y theory.   -Michael Lovercheck

  1. #1 by Todd Conkright on November 26, 2011 - 8:39 pm

    Good observation, Mchael. It is difficult to work with someone who barks orders and doesn’t recognize your abilities and value. Although most leaders are somewhere between X and Y, it is defintely more enjoyable to wok with those who at least make an attempt at inclusion, appreciation, and positve motivation!

  2. #2 by leadershipiscool on November 29, 2011 - 12:48 am

    Good point, and I agree. Theory Y seems like a better approach for many reasons. Personally, I know I would have a hard time filling a dictator type role, I’m too much of a “people-pleaser.” It’s definitely more enjoyable to work with those in the Theory Y group. Positive motivation can go a long way!
    -Katie Rockensock

Leave a comment